The Benefice:

We are “The United Benefice of Ropley, Bishop’s Sutton and West Tisted”


St Peters, Ropley

Ropley Parish Hall (used for Ropley Services)

St Nicholas, Bishop’s Sutton

St Mary Magdalene, West Tisted

Monkwood Mission Church

Alresford Deanery

The United Benefice of Ropley, Bishop’s Sutton and West Tisted is a part of the Alresford Deanery which comprises the parishes of:

Avington,  Beauworth,  Bighton,  Bishop’s Sutton,  Bradley, Bramdean, Brown Candover, Cheriton, Chilton Candover,  Cliddesden, Dummer, Easton, Ellisfield, Farleigh Wallop, Hinton Ampner, Itchen Abbas, Itchen Stoke, Kilmeston, Martyr Worthy, New Alresford, Northington, Nutley, Old Alresford, Ovington, Preston Candover, Ropley, Swarraton, Tichborne, West Tisted, Wield

The Diocese of Winchester

The Alresford Deanery is in turn a part of the The Diocese of Winchester which was founded in 676AD and is one of the five senior dioceses of the Church of England. The Diocese consists of about two thirds of the County of Hampshire and most of Bournemouth in the County of Dorset, excluding Portsmouth and the area immediately to its north and north-east. There are two archdeaconries, Winchester in the north and Bournemouth in the south, each administered by one of our Archdeacons.  Each archdeaconry is then separated into administrative areas called deaneries, 6 in Winchester and 8 in Bournemouth.